Addiction to Sadness

Why is it that we can’t keep laughing over the same thing and yet we can keep crying over the same issue?

Why is it that we keep going back to the pain and suffering that we all feel?

Why is it that we are so afraid of being happy? As though it might be robbed away from us the minute we experience this so called feeling of happiness.

WHY?

I figured it’s this addiction to sadness. That people actually like this emotional pain be it from a heartbreak or a friendship cock up. The regrets that we feel and that we are unable to purge it of our system.

For some reason, people relate more to being sad than to being happy/angry/jealousy etc. Look at the retweets on twitter – the sadder it is, the more retweets it gets. And usually it’s about relationships. Kinship? No. Friendship? Maybe. But regrets over the boy/girl that we lose over time more often than not gets the most retweets.

Look at Tumblr/Facebook/Instagram. The account with the most followers or gets shared the most are usually about how people regret losing that person they loved the most.

In turn, this regret fuels their sadness. I am not going to be a hypocrite and say that I’m happy all the time cause I’m not. There are times where I feel absolutely like shit and so desolated as though the world has given up on me. I feel that my friends have better friends out there. They don’t need me. So where exactly do I stand? Do I mean as much to them as they mean to me? Why do boys not like me? Am I not pretty enough? Or did I push them away with my unladylike gestures? Questions like these run through my mind all the damn time and it drives me mad.

This sadness that we are addicted to pushes us into a vicious cycle of self pity and self doubt. Am I good enough? Am I worthy of being loved? Do my friends actually like me? As a result, those who are unable to come out of this cycle gets further trapped in it. Being even more cynical about love and how they are not wanted cause of their looks.

This perpetuates the need of feeling sad and miserable. In a way it helps them feel more secure. Cause pain has been their constant friend while people around them choose to leave.

But those are just my thoughts. I believe that we all have the ability to choose our own emotions. It’s okay to feel upset. To feel miserable. To feel depressed. To feel like shit. To feel everything else but happy. It’s okay to let those tears flow out. But at the end of the day, we should let go of all these negative emotions and feel better.

Cause nobody. I mean NOBODY has the right to make you feel that way. So smile. Let the world know that you are perfectly fine on your own. Be confident. Confidence draws people to you. Lastly, believe in yourself. Only then you are able to go further and achieve greater things than you’ll ever know you can.

 

Leave a Reply

